Getting It Right

Getting It Right

(Click through the title to get to the link)

A poem that begins with

Your ankles make me want to party,
want to sit and beg and roll over

is definitely sure to catch and hold my attention.

Some gems:

Your back is the back of a river full of fish;
I have my tackle and tackle box. You only have to say the word.
Your back, a letter I have been writing for fifteen years, a smooth stone,
a moan someone makes when his hair is pulled, your back
like a warm tongue at rest, a tongue with a tab of acid on top; your spine
is an alphabet, a ladder of celestial proportions.
When I place my fingers along it there isn’t an instrument in the world
I’d rather be playing. It’s a map of the world, a time line,
I am navigating the North and South of it.

Link

Leave a Reply

